E/N: This series will now be weekly now that I’ve built myself a lead.

_______________________________________________

My dad, Gram, came back while I was working on drawing weapons. Creating a database is important, but so are family conversations. Let’s listen to Gram’s family-oriented story. Iona and I sat around the table and listened to Gram’s story. Maria was standing behind Grams.

“It’s been a year since we came to the Royal Capital.”

Gram spoke.

“About the current situation…”

“ Yes.”

“It’s going to be a difficult topic for Raul, but please listen to me. The Duchy of Eucrit is currently in a difficult situation, that’s why I was called to the capital.”

Is this country called Eucrit? This is the first time I’ve heard of it. It’s a rather laid-back name.


“The Vargius Empire in the south has become powerful, and diplomatic relations are in very unfavorable conditions. Furthermore, trade with countries in the south has to bypass the Vargius Empire, since if it goes through Vargius, a big tariff will be imposed on our country. It’s becoming a burden.”

Hmmhmm. Does this mean that there are conflicts between countries in this world as well?

“Our vassal states in the north, such as the Kingdom of Rashtar and the Kingdom of Schladen, depend on us as the Duchy of Eucrit, and if our country makes a mistake in diplomatic relations with the Vargius Empire, the situation between the two countries will become even more difficult.”

The country that I live in has some vassal countries, so I guess that means it’s a pretty big country, I guess?

“Although we have a friendly relationship with the Holy Nation of Faatria in the east, we are still in a difficult position due to our relationship with Vargius. There seems to be talk of a union between Eucrit and Faatria, but talks are slow to progress.”

Hmm. We are from Iona’s family, which is a high class aristocracy, so we seem to be wealthy, but the fact that our food is so frugal is probably because of trade…Does this mean that even though agriculture is more prosperous in the south, we can’t get supplies?

“To the west rises a mountain range inhabited by flying dragons and earth dragons, and although it is not a land where humans live, there is an ocean beyond that. If only we could secure a sea route… Even if we did, the sea would also be full of monsters. It’s not as safe as it is.”

There are dragons? Of course there will be dragons. It’s a different world, right? I want to hear about dragons, but I’m not in the mood to interrupt.

“Well, it’s okay to talk about difficult topics. I think I understand that you’ve been called to the capital for this purpose.”

Um, I guess he was called to guard the Royal Palace?

“I think I told you before I came to the capital that there was a disturbing atmosphere in the Vargius Empire. I heard that they were increasing their military equipment. Well, war isn’t necessarily the only purpose.”


Ah, that’s right.

“I’ve heard that monsters are appearing in the villages near the sea of ​​trees that spread out at the foot of the mountain range to the west. Something may be at work. We’re sending out a survey team right now. The Vargius Empire’s military buildup may also be the cause.”


I couldn’t help but ask.

“Is everything alright in the village?”

Gram replied with a frown. He seemed to be angry about this.

“Although it’s not serious, it seems that children may have been harmed…”


The dining table became quiet. Gram continued on.

“That’s why I was called to the capital. While assisting the knight commander, I was asked to help with the reinforcement and maintenance of the army. Furthermore, to protect the capital and strengthen the army.”

“Dad was chosen for it?”

Hearing that Gram has a big responsibility, I asked him with respect.

“That’s right. Well, the reason why I was chosen was probably because monsters appeared in the west and the knowledge of adventurers was needed. They can ask adventurers, but it’ll be limited to an adventurer from noble lineage and a military man. And someone like me who became a knight would probably be better suited to instruct the new recruited soldiers.]

Wow! Isn’t this a managerial position with great responsibility?

“The reorganization of the military organization has been completed, and we have a plan for the Royal Castle security system and personnel allocation. We have also taught the soldiers and guard knights how to safely subjugate monsters. Now we need to move on to the territory’s army on the frontier. Well, once I finish teaching them how to fight, my role will be over. All that’s left to do is return to my lordship and work for the people of my territory.”

Ara, it’s like he’s being used like a middle manager at a black company. Are you okay? Is Gram tired? No, he should go to sleep.

Then, Iona said.

“Please don’t push yourself too hard. Please take care of yourself…”

Gram laughed.

“I won’t be able to rest for a while yet, but it doesn’t really matter. I want to return to Sanaria territory with you guys as soon as possible. If I had known it was a mission like this, I would have come to the capital by myself.” 

“No, sweetheart. I love you and we’re together in this. Although I ended up dragging Maria with us.”

“No, ma’am! I’m just happy. I can’t help but feel happy every day that you brought a girl from the countryside like me to a city like this.”

Maria said happily.

That’s right. I came from another world, Tokyo, and even though this Royal Capital is in the countryside, it’s like living in a tourist attraction overseas. It’s just a shame that the food that I eat is like healthy food and I can’t go to a survival game shop.

“Anyway, it’s almost time. My role will be over soon. Until then, I may not be able to go home for a while, but please bear with me.”

“Yes.”

“Understood.”

Iona and Maria replied, so I should reply as well.

“Yes.”

Then, Gram said:

“Raul is almost four years old, I’m counting on you to watch over Mom and Maria.”


Well, there’s not much I can do as a toddler, but leave it to me!

“Yes! Please leave it to me!”

Gram narrowed his eyes and laughed at my reply.

“Raul will be 4 years old in about 10 days.”

Iona informed.

“I see! Then once things calm down, let’s celebrate together.”

Gram said happily, so I thanked her.

“Thanks, Mom.”

“Look forward to it, Raul.”

Iona seemed to be having fun too.

“Yes!”

We ate and talked happily for a while, then Iona started talking.

“By the way, you. I heard that Raul has drawn something.”

Nn?

Then, Gram said,

“Oh, have you started drawing?”

I was asked.

Hey hey hey! This is bad. I can’t let them see that. I can’t explain it either. What should I do?


Iona then followed.

“I haven’t seen it yet either. What have you been drawing?”

Don’t rush. I’m a normal 3 year old. There are only so many things a child can draw like that.

“I’m drawing a picture of Dad.”

“My picture! I want to see it!”

Fuck! I dug myself a grave! Well…

“Um, I just started drawing and it’s not finished. Sorry.”


“Alright! I’m looking forward to seeing how it turns out.”

Gram patted me on the head again. I got through it anyway!

…..later that night.

I silently wrote down the weapon’s data and image on paper. It’s really fun. The house was quiet. As for me, I didn’t get sleepy at all. In my head, like a man running amok at the end of a certain century, the data I had been creating on my computer kept coming back to me.


My right hand moved swiftly, writing down notes on weapons endlessly like an industrial robot. Then, I noticed something strange. The memories of weapons I had written down on paper began to appear in my head like a database. It’s like a tablet app.

Almost like I could scroll it with my finger.

When I closed my eyes, I saw a pitch-black screen with a weapon on the back. Maybe I can scroll? I reached out with my hand. Then, the screen starts moving. Only the parts that I have handwritten were displayed.

Nn? 

This is? It’s not an image. Am I actually touching the data? Is this… magic? Only data was floating in space in an orderly manner. I have been trying to call up my computer or smartphone but failed. Did I realize it with an image? …But it feels different from that, it’s just the 3DCG that appears as I imagined it. Weapons are floating in the darkness of the screen. However, it feels real, not CG.

This…I remember seeing it in a science fiction movie when I was a kid. If you manipulate the screen that appears in the air with your hand, you can move the screen away or open multiple windows.

But, this is slightly different. It’s just the weapons I drew floating in a row in the darkness.

“Could it be…!”

I thought of something amazing and decided to write down the weapons on paper again. Yes, it’s an imaginary weapon. First of all, it’s the Beam Rifle that I saw in the anime. If you write this, something amazing will happen!!

After I finish drawing, I try to imagine the database mentioned earlier.

Nothing. 

Let’s try drawing other weapons to see.

Next up is a hooded knight fighting the Galactic Empire with a sword of light. It’s romantic! This time, visualize it clearly and write it down.

Nothing. 

I’m disappointed. No matter how I try to imagine it, all I can think of is scenes from anime or movies.

This seems to be a system where only actual weapons from previous lives will appear. Maybe it’s summoned from another world? I don’t understand how it works anyway.

Now, let’s write down some actual weapons.

This is what the US used in the Vietnam War.

M9 flamethrower

It is a deadly weapon that can be used to kill or injure large numbers of people, or to burn down vegetation and houses. Because the user will have to carry a fuel tank on their back, the maneuverability is poor, but it can cause considerable damage. Although it cannot be used in melee, it is very effective against enemies holed up in caves.


When I finished drawing properly…


It came out in perfect shape.

It seems like it won’t work unless it’s a weapon that actually existed in a previous life. Maybe it’s a problem with my image… Can this be searched?

I suddenly thought of the first P320 I drew. The P320 screen was immediately brought up. Ah, it’s here. I tried scrolling horizontally with my finger. Perhaps this scroll is just my imagination.

P320 comes in full size, compact, and subcompact sizes.

It’s a success. That’s amazing!  I was so excited that I couldn’t help but touch the P320 subcompact.

Clank !!

Oh, I did it! ! I started it by mistake! What should I do?


I was stunned when I saw the P320 that had fallen in front of me. But…it’s cool…I tried to squeeze the grip, but my small hands couldn’t reach the trigger. I slowly tried removing the magazine. It’s empty. That’s it!

I quietly left the room and hurried to the closet. Making sure to keep my steps as quiet as possible. I took out the box where I hid the bullets and knife and extracted only the bullets from inside. I tried loading it into a P320. It was definitely a perfect fit.

Ugh, I want to fire it. I want to shoot at an empty can. But my hands were too small, so I don’t think it would be possible. Grow up fast, me!

I had no choice but to keep the gun in a box and put it in a hidden place in the closet. And then quietly return to the room.


“Phew…”

This is amazing. I can even take out complex weapons without any problems! No problem with magic! Even complicated firearms can be drawn as 3D data. I was so excited that I couldn’t sleep. I’m working overtime today. I wished there was an energy drink.

After that, I continued to draw weapons.

As I continued drawing, I suddenly wanted to see if I could summon food. The dish here seems bland, I wonder if I could summon some salt and sugar? However, I don’t think it will come out even if I call it normally. Until now, I couldn’t summon anything other than weapons.

So, what I came up with to call it wasn’t the usual salt or sugar. That’s what I devoured in my previous life. It’s portable food for the military. Combat rations…commonly known as milimeshi. I’ve eaten milimeshi from the militaries of many different countries, but the Self-Defense Forces one was the best.

I’ve gotten and eaten it so many times that I remember its shape and name. I got it from Minagawa, ate it, and even wrote a food report on my blog. I remember that the flavor was quite strong and salty. I immediately imagined it and drew it in a picture. First up was canned white rice. The image came out just as I imagined. The background was dark and the texture was realistic.

Let’s also check my brain database.

It’s a success. It’s in the data!

I’m getting hungry, but I don’t have a can opener. Let’s stop touching it. There’s nothing I can do if it comes out now.

I keep adding to it one after another. Cans of cooked rice, cans of red rice, cans of simmered foods, cans of hamburgers, cans of fish, cans of sausages, cans of pickles, hardtack bags… I got hungry and wrote as much as I could remember. But… with this, even if we were short on supplies, we would definitely be able to continue fighting. I don’t know if we will ever be short on supplies or not. But if you don’t have enough food to fight a long war, you’ll lose!


I would like to give this to Gram, who is forced to do black labor to the point of exhaustion during expedition after expedition…

I was thinking of my father…