NF V2C5

Editor: Saphira

(Uh… Screwed up scheduling, whoops.)


 Even though it might shock him, I asked the captain,

“Captain, are you going to “the royal capital”? And Sarrell isn’t coming here, is he?”

 The Captain’s hand stopped stroking my head, and he looked surprised.

“Why do you know that?”

“I’m a spirit, I know everything.”

 To avoid getting Kix in trouble, I used the “I’m a spirit” excuse.

“I, I want you to stay here, I don’t want anyone else here.”

“Mil…”

“Don’t you know? Sarrell may “look nice”, but he’s actually a horrible person!”

 Even if he has a side part and glasses, and looks like a noble, apparently he doesn’t have a nice personality.

“Mil…”

 Although the Captain looked touched at first, he called my name again in a different voice this time.

“Captain Sarrell certainly wishes to be assigned to the North Fort, but I still want to work here. I like the environment and the subordinates here, and in the kingdom where there are many nobles around, there’s a completely different environment there. “

 My expression softened, but it hardened again immediately.

“That’s why I would like to experience what Captain Sarrell is facing, but at the same time, I know I can’t leave the fort. Although we were both born in similar backgrounds, I know that Captain Sarrell and the knights of the fort will be devastatingly incompatible.”

 In the serious atmosphere, I tried to laugh, but the Captain wore a serious expression.

 I’m seriously worried about the possible future relationship between the knights of the fort and Captain Sarrell as well.

 Since all the knights in the fort think, “Focus on ability! Muscles are important! Strong people are respected!”, an incompetent captain wouldn’t be able to control them; the fort needed a strong commander.

 It seems that is what the Captain is concerned about it.

“Then why are there rumours that you’re leaving, Captain?”

 I thought that it was decided he was staying, but apparently, it’s not.

 The Captain explained,

“There are two reasons, one is that the prince said,” I want you to come back to the Imperial Guards,” because I used to be a member.”

 I knew that the Captain and the Crown Prince were childhood friends, but I didn’t know he was a member of the Imperial Guards before coming to the fort.

However, I could also understand the prince’s feelings about wanting the captain to be his guard. If someone was guarding me, I’d rather have someone I can trust.

“And the other reason is that my family heard that and said, ” How about coming back to the capital city soon?””

 The Captain laughed as if there were no problems.

“Father and brother… Even my mother is worried. Even if I’m a Captain, they still think of me as “the youngest child”. They’re worried if I can handle it, especially in the winter, and I get a letter that says, “Are you still alive?” every early spring. “

 The Captain sighed with a smile as if it could not be helped.

 I am loved by my family, and I feel so happy.

“Aside from my family… I can’t ignore his Highness. Supporting his Highness is also my final goal. So I will return to the Royal Capital someday. I will leave Mil… Hm… No, I’m trying to avoid thinking about that because it’s too hard… But one day, I will achieve my goal. “

“When? In how many years?”

 I asked the captain. I have to practice my movement technique quickly so I can visit him often.

 The Captain smiled and said quietly, “I don’t know yet.”

“But, like I said in the beginning, I’m not planning on returning to the royal capital at the moment. I’m not good enough to guard his highness. I want to train myself here. I want to get to know you better before I go back to the capital. “

“Like the one-eyed knight?”

 I don’t know why I mentioned him, but I noticed a strange expression on the Captain’s face.

 Like other knights in the North Fort, the Captain also wants to be as strong as the one-eyed knight.

 It’s a way to tell that you’re strong.

 If he becomes as strong as the one-eyed knight, he should be able to return to the capital with confidence.

“Keep it a secret.”

 The Captain, who seemed uneasy about my loose mouth, told me.

“Okay! Well, Captain, are you going to tell people about your goal?”

 The Captain suddenly stood up, and reassured me,

“Oh, I’m going to tell his Highness, my father, my brother, as well as Captain Sarrell and the General.”

 The Captain patted my head.

 The highest ranking knight in the kingdom- that’s the General.

 That person is now coming to the Northern Fort with a letter from the prince to the Captain. He’ll arrive in the evening.

 When he comes, the Captain will tell the General that he wants to stay at the fort.

“Captain, are you going to listen to the letter?”

“Probably, because he knows I’ve been avoiding the Royal Capital.”

 He laughed with a bit of self-deprecation.

 Hm, I was a bit worried about the Captain. He doesn’t actually have that much authority.

 The Captain may not be the Captain of the fort tomorrow, but I hope the General will let him stay as the Captain of the fort.

 At night, something happened.

 I was preparing to got to sleep – I put dead grass on my bed, and it’s my nightly routine to “flatten it” so it’s comfortable – when Mother turned into a human and said,

“Milfiria, let’s have a little talk.”

 When I heard her serious voice I thought,

 I’ve heard this line before.

 I heard it just before the time where I was house-sitting for a month.

(I have a bad feeling about this…)

 What will happen now? Is Mother going to the Royal Capital again?

 While thinking this, I looked up at Mother, extremely anxious.

“Hmm… Mother?”

“You’ll have to be home alone for a while from now on.”

 Yeah, last time I was cut off like that as well.

 I remembered the first time I was home alone for a day, I felt incredibly uneasy.

 But now, even if I have to be alone for a month, I can endure it. I’m not alone in my small world, if I play with the knights, dad, or Kugargue, I won’t be lonely.

 Well, whether she’ll be away for a month, or away for 2 months, I’m three years old now, so I can endure it… No, two months is too much. I’ll be sad if I can’t see Mother for that long. Yeah, two months is impossible. One and a half months, I could probably bear it somehow-

 While I was in the middle of figuring out how long I could last without Mother, she opened her mouth and said,

“I have a request. I want you to go to the Royal Capital by yourself tomorrow.”


 NF V2C5 (April Fools Ver.)

(if you want to read it)

Previous | Next

  1. Carmeops Renard Avatar
    Carmeops Renard

    ·

    for a moment i thought you used a drunk machine translation for this chapter, but even machines can’t accidentally butcher a story like that, you got me there

    Like

    1. saphira371 Avatar
      saphira371

      ·

      Well, Google somehow got “one-eyed knight butchered into “surgery for cancer” this chapter, so they can actually screw it up that badly

      Liked by 2 people

  2. NF V2C4 The Captain’s Circumstances (2) – Burning Feathers Avatar
    NF V2C4 The Captain’s Circumstances (2) – Burning Feathers

    ·

    […] Previous | Next […]

    Like

  3. God Ginrai Avatar
    God Ginrai

    ·

    Can you list all of the chapters for the volume on the ToC so that those of us who read by volume can estimate when the next volume will be done?

    Like

    1. saphira371 Avatar
      saphira371

      ·

      Ok

      Like

      1. God Ginrai Avatar
        God Ginrai

        ·

        Thanks!

        Like

        1. saphira371 Avatar
          saphira371

          ·

          We still got a long way to go ;-;

          Like

  4. hb98rml Avatar
    hb98rml

    ·

    Thank you for the update ❤️

    Like

  5. KugatsuKarma95 Avatar
    KugatsuKarma95

    ·

    Ugh I love this story so much that it hurts, and I just keep getting a bit of a bad feeling with this glasses dude and everything.
    But anyways, thank you so so so much for the translations, I’m truly grateful for the effort you put into this.

    Like

  6. NF V2C6 – Mission to the Capital! (1) – Burning Feathers Avatar
    NF V2C6 – Mission to the Capital! (1) – Burning Feathers

    ·

    […] Previous | Next […]

    Like